J2150 Week 11: Mobile Journalism

This upcoming week in J2150, we will be put to the test on our mobile journalism skills. I’m a bit nervous about it just because there is such a small period of time between when the clock starts and stops for the assignment to begin and finish. Sixty minutes to be exact.

I like the idea of mobile journalism, but I’m anxious to see how I perform in trying to create it myself. I’m not all that savvy when it comes to using smart phones, as I don’t own one myself, so I’m nervous to use one for this assignment. I’ve been doing a little research to see what I want to report on come Tuesday, April 10, at 9:30 in the morning, but I haven’t quite decided on anything yet. At first I thought we were going to have to shoot some video clips and then edit them on the phone to post to the web for this assignment, but I was relieved to discover that this assignment was a bit easier than that. 

I was browsing the web to view some examples of mobile journalism from professionals to see some good examples, but most of them were videos of mobile journalism broadcasts. I found this one website called Mobile Broadcast News, we’re there for you, which had a blog type feel to it, where as you scolled down the page, you could see posts of older mobile broadcasts. 

The first video I came across at the top of the page was called A Worldwide Hippies CITIZEN DISPATCH, posted on April 5, 2012. 

&nbsp

Now personally, I didn’t really enjoy this piece of “mobile journalism” at all. I didn’t like that there was just a guy talking into the camera the entire time about the issue at hand. I wan’t to see more footage of what was actually going on and here quotes from more people.

I continued looking through the posts a bit more and came across one called OWS M28 Union Square: Psychological War: “The Trap of Violence,” which I liked much more. 

This story about Occupy Union Square was much better in my opinion in comparison to the first video that I watched because it had much more of a mobile journalism feel to it. The people at the event got to tell the story and there were a lot of visuals from the event to go along with it. 

I’m excited to see how I perform for this assignment on Tuesday. It seems like a really interesting job to have, and I like the idea of being “in the field” for a job all day instead of just constantly being in an office. It will be interesting to see how the  time constraint works out for me. 

This entry was published on April 8, 2012 at 4:06 pm and is filed under J2150. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “J2150 Week 11: Mobile Journalism

  1. Great set of video links and response to them. That first one really was hard to get through, so I was relieved to see the #Occupy story was a bit more varied. I’m surprised that both were as long as they were though. Do you think that’s the main difference between a citizen journalist and a professional (the amount of time spent editing down the story)?

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

